Honolulu

51nr2mvno1l This story takes place in 1914.  Jin is a young Korean women who wants nothing more then to learn how to read and write.  She is forbidden to learn while her older brothers are allowed to attend school, whereas she is stuck at home to learn wifely duties.  Realizing that she has very little power to change her situation she decides to leave her native land and travel to Honolulu as a “picture bride.”

Little does she know that this journey will change her life forever for the good and the bad.

I would have to say that this was one of the books I happened by chance to find sitting on the shelf.  One way I deal with my long commute to work is listening to recorded books.  I always try to have three on hold, but this was one time when I did not have a book available and  I needed something desperately.  The benefits of strolling the stacks is that you can’t be too picky when you are desperate to find a book.

Who would like this book? Do you like history? Do you like a good story? Do you like a strong female character?  Do you like twists & turns?

If you say yes to anyone of the following, I highly recommend this book for you….
And if you so happen to enjoy this book I recommend one of the following books as a follow up….

Leave a Reply

