Catching Fire


catching-fire-book-cover-01TITLE: Catching Fire

AUTHOR: Suzanne Collins

GENRE: Young Adult & Science Fiction

SETTING(S) : Panem, Fictional Location, North America, District 12, The Capitol and District 11

SUBJECT:  Dystopias, Survival, Television programs, Interpersonal relations, Contests, Science fiction, Futuristic society, Coming of age, Hunting, Adolescence, Adolescent interpersonal relations, Rebellion, Dictators, Class conflict, Romances (Fiction), Violence, Death

MAIN CHARACTERS: Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark, President Coriolanus Snow, Gale Hawthorne, Haymitch Abernathy,  Cinna, Finnick Odair, Mags, Johanna Mason and Beetee


After surviving the Hunger Games; Katniss and Peeta have secured a safe future for their families.  As they take on a journey through the twelve districts known as the Victory Tour, Katniss and Peeta become the symbolism of hope.  Therefore the spark has been lit and talk of a revolution against the capital has begun.  The capital and president Snow have other plans for Katniss and Peeta.  The next Hunger Games is the 75th anniversary of the competition and to celebrate this occasion a “Quarter Quell” will be played out.  What is and how is the “Quarter Quell” differ from the annual Hunger Games?  It defers due to the fact that it brings together past victors of past games for another winner-takes-all fight to the death.  This brings Katniss and Peeta back to the arena in order to defend their district, families and their own lives.  Will they ever officially escape the Hunger Games and live in peace?  Well see…

– – – – – – – – – – –


I tend to stay clear of books that have a gladiator feel to it.  Mind you I’ve read the Lord of the Ring Series and most of the Inheritance Series as well.  Not to say I don’t like violent or adventurous books.  But reading a series about kids being thrown in an arena to fight for their lives is something I am normally do not read.  Then why are you reading this book?  Well I love the characters and I try to read the book as if the characters are some strange book camp or learning the basic survival methods in order to survive.

So if you look at it that way the Hunger Series is a book of surviving natural elements.  Okay back to Catching Fire.  After getting to know all the characters in the first book I can say that I was not at all shocked that President Snow decided to throw Peeta & Katniss back in the arena.   But unlike the first time they were put in the arena where they had no friends or means to survive this time I think they were more ready. The plot thickens and the story becomes more intriguing towards the ending and how a revolution fits into the plot is very well thought out.

I love how Suzanne Collins writes and how her characters tug the hearts of their readers wanting to learn what is going to happen to them and how they are going to get themselves out of x,y and z.  I wouldn’t say it is a fun series but it is a series that is relatively easy to read through within a month if you have a month to read all three books.  Or if you want to take your hour or two after work or school not watching recaps of your favorite shows then this is a series I highly recommend.