Pet Sitting

  A while back I was asked if I did any pet sitting.  Sure I did pet sitting part-time when I was in my late teens and early twenties, but never thought now that I am close to thirty I would go back to it.

Before diving into it I had to ask “Is it Profitable” “Do you need to be Insured?” “What is the average rate per day?”

Is it Profitable?  It can be but only if you’re willing to take the time, energy and cost to do some heavy marketing and networking.  I’m not good at networking and marketing requires a bit of money and I currently do not have the funds to do so.  But I did spend a few dollars for business cards.

Do you need to be insured?  Yes and No.  Yes if you’re going to expand your services to total strangers.  I am lucky to give my services to neighbors, friends and family.  Not going beyond that.  Perhaps a friend of a friend in occasion.  I may become ensured once I’ve gain the amount of funds I will need to join the “Pet Sitters Inc.” and become an insured Pet Sitter.  For now I shouldn’t have to worry as long as I stick with my gut.

What is the average rate?  The town I live in a pet sitter gets an average rate of $10 per day where as a town only 10 miles away from me gets $40 a day.  And some pet sitters in my area will charge $90 per day if someone wants them to stay over.  Many of the local pet sitters not only pet sit but do doggie daycare, dog walking and a whole lot of other stuff.  I on the other hand do not have the room or yard to have my personal doggie day-care.

I have a small group of clients that I work for and hope it will help me stay afloat until I gain a more reliable income or job.

