Volunteering

There has been a lot of talk about volunteering since the big Haiti disaster.  In my opinion everyone should dedicate some hours to volunteer some where in there community instead of waiting till a big disaster occurs.  A lot of local organizations and non-profits are hurting right now some include the animal shelters, historic societies and battlefields.  There are many other places hurting and you can find more information on how and where to volunteer by visiting volunteermatch.org/.  You just might be the one person that they need to stay open and continue their work.  

It took me only three months to decide that I needed to stay busy and the only way I was going to stay busy without breaking the bank was to volunteer.   This was after spending several months researching for a job and getting absolutely no where.  So after getting much support from my family I decided to fill out an application to volunteer at the local animal rescue.  There are about 4 different organizations that rescue animals in the county I live in but I choose the one that I knew the location very well.

It took a few more months for me to visit the local Historical Society since I really did not know what I really wanted to do at the time. I continue to explore the different non-profits in my area to see what kind of help they need.  Some are better at contacting people back then others but sometimes it will take a little extra month or so until you can actually start to volunteer for the organization.   I’ve contacted a few other non-profits in my county, but none have kept me as busy or contacted me as frequently as these two organizations.   The experiences I’ve gain from volunteering have impacted me in what I want to gain in life and what I would like to do with the rest of my life.  It also has given me a whole lot more patience than I had in the past.  In the past it took only a few weeks before I would quit something now I know it takes time before anything can get started especially when it comes to working with non-profit organizations.

